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Andrew McDermott

6 Firm Wide Metrics to Evaluate and Improve Your Practice

August 15, 2018 By Andrew McDermott Leave a Comment

Firm Metric Feature Image - Computer business metrics

Is your law firm doing well?

How do you really know that your firm is doing well? When it comes to firm wide metrics, many aren’t sure they have the answer. Their gut feeling tells them all is well so they go with that.

Maybe they’re right?

Or maybe their assessment of their firm is completely wrong. Is there a way to objectively find the right answer?

Absolutely.

Want objective proof? You need firm wide metrics

You gain clarity with the right metrics.

These metrics give you hard data on your firm’s performance. There’s no guesswork involved, no indecision on what needs to be done. Just crystal clear, actionable evidence to follow. With the right metrics you know (a.) when you’re off course (b.) what needs to be corrected and (c.) when you’re back on track.

Why does that matter?

These metrics enable you to avoid “decision by committee.” There’s no need for partners and shareholders to debate the merits of what can work. These metrics show you what will work.

Which metrics are we talking about here?

  1. Cost per client conversion / acquisition
  2. Cost of servicing a client
  3. Realization
  4. Profitability
  5. Individual performance
  6. Satisfaction (clients and employees)

1. Cost per client conversion / acquisition

How much does it cost to acquire a client? Which platform sends you the most clients? Which platform sends you the best clients? The cost per conversion / acquisition metric is a fantastic way to get data-driven answers to these questions.

Cost per conversion

Most attorneys know what I mean by conversion.

But, for the sake of clarity, I’m going to define it here. A conversion occurs when a prospect completes the desired goal. Calling you on the phone, sending you an email, filling out a contact form on your website, etc. It’s a goal or outcome that leads to revenue.

Easy.

Here’s the formula to calculate your cost per conversion.

Cost of traffic / by the number of conversions = Cost per conversion

If you have goals set up in Google or Adobe analytics, you’ll have what you need to track your cost per conversion and cost per acquisition.

Here’s why this matters

You’ll be able to get detailed data on:

  • The marketing channels that work best for your firm (e.g. Google AdWords, Facebook Ads, display advertising, guest posts, etc.).
  • Which website, landing pages, offers or ads produce the greatest amount of conversions you want
  • A keen minute-by-minute awareness of your marketing effectiveness

It’s a helpful way to measure your marketing effectiveness – without delving too deeply into data science and complex formulas.

Cost per acquisition

Here’s the formula to calculate your cost per client acquisition

Marketing expenses / number of clients = Cost per acquisition (per client)

Here’s the thing with this formula. You’ll need to be consistent with your timeframe. If you spent $2,000 on marketing in a month and you acquired 20 clients in that same month, your cost per acquisition would be $100 per client.

Here’s why this matters

If you have a set breakeven point this metric shows you whether you’re on track (or not). Let’s say your breakeven point for a specific practice area (e.g. bankruptcy matters) was $530 per client. If you spent any more than $530 to acquire a bankruptcy client you’d lose money. Anything less than $530 and you’re making money.

Here’s an important caveat.

Your breakeven cost per acquisition may vary by practice area. This is important. It enables you to allocate your marketing dollars to practice areas with the greatest financial upside.

Your breakeven point is your initial target.

2. Cost of servicing a client

This takes our previous point further. Calculating the cost of servicing a client requires that we factor in all of our fixed costs. We need to determine what it takes to attract and win a new revenue producing client.

Fixed costs include rent, utilities, payroll, taxes and fixed marketing expenses. Here’s a formula you can use to calculate the cost of servicing a client

Hours spent on client / Total hours spent * Total Fixed Operating Costs = Cost of servicing a client

This requires disciplined time tracking – at the client level and firm wide. The more accurate your data the more telling this metric is.

Here’s why this matters

  • You’ll get a clear idea of the quality and quantity of the work you’re doing for each client
  • You can identify which clients are profitable in the short and long-term
  • Assess which practice areas are worthwhile from a financial standpoint

With a little bit of digging, you can quickly identify the markers, red flags and identifiers of an unprofitable client. With a well-designed marketing funnel and the right data, you’ll have the knowledge you need to attract more of the promoter clients your firm needs.

3. Realization

As far as performance indicators go, realization is fairly straightforward. It’s the answer to a simple question. Of the time that’s billed, how much comes back to your firm as revenue?

Realization includes the following firm wide metrics:  

  • Amount of work done vs. amount billed
  • Revenue billed per month
  • Revenue collected per month
  • Monthly expenses
  • The accounts receivable lifecycle (the amount of time between you doing the work and receiving payment)
  • Any discounts and/or write downs (before billing)
  • Write offs after billing.

This data is key.

Realization gives you the ability to forecast. It’s a simple and straightforward way to assess your firm’s financial performance.  

  • Use these metrics to identify problem clients
  • Clients who pay well and pay on time
  • Which practice areas are profitable or unprofitable
  • Whether your collections policies need improvements to capture more revenue
  • Whether your time tracking methods are accurate

The data from realization is essential because it confirms your firm’s financial performance. With the right details, you’ll be able to increase revenue, decrease expenses and decrease losses.

4. Profitability

Clients aren’t created equal. One client can be more profitable than another. Some practice areas are more profitable than others. When it comes to measuring profit you’ll want to take a layered approach.

Determine profitability by:

  • Client
  • Firm
  • Partner
  • Practice area
  • Timekeeper

This gives you the granular data you need to find and address financial problems. The basic formula for calculating profit looks incredibly simple.

Revenue – cost = Profit  

In reality this isn’t that simple. It really depends on the billing model you use in your firm. Do you use a cost-plus, fixed price or value-based model? How do you determine costs? These questions aren’t as easy to answer, as you already know.

It’s something you’ll need to define for your firm.

5. Individual performance

Which attorneys are your top/bottom performers? Which employees are financially profitable? If you’re looking for an answer to that question you’ll need to assess your attorney’s individual performance.

Here’s what I mean.

Let’s say attorneys in your firm have a maximum of 60 hours available in a week to bill clients. You decide to use this as your benchmark. If your attorney bills at $200 per hour that means the maximum they can earn for that week is $12,000 per week or $48,000 per month.

Here’s the math:

60 hours (total) x $200 per hour = $12,000 potential per week.

If this attorney only brings $7,500 hundred per week in that’s a 63% collection rate. You’re able to instantly gauge whether he’s performing as expected.

You can calculate this for the entire firm, groups in the firm (e.g. first year associates), and individuals.

Here’s why this matters

Measuring individual performance enables you to:

  • Maintain cash flow and profitability in your firm
  • Identify A players, A player potentials, B and C players
  • Set and maintain financial goals/benchmarks for your firm

Attorneys and those who produce billable work are judged primarily by the amount of billables they produce for the firm. Does this mean this is the only metric that matters?

Not at all.

But it’s the metric with the most immediate value.

6. Satisfaction (clients and employees)

Client satisfaction can be distilled down to one simple question.

“On a scale of 0 – 10, how likely are you to recommend us?“

This is taken from the NetPromoter score.

 

netpromoter

 

  • Promoters are loyalists. They’ll spend more money with your firm and they’ll refer other clients, driving growth.
  • Passives are unenthusiastic but satisfied with your work. They’re opportunists who are vulnerable to competitor poaching.
  • Detractors are unhappy clients who will use reviews and word-of-mouth as a weapon to damage your brand and restrict growth.

This is crucial because it tells you where to spend your time and attention.

  • Spending 80 percent of your available time on promoters keeps them happy and passionate about your firm. Continue to look for ways you can add value to these clients.
  • Offer lukewarm passives three to five percent of your available time, inviting them to become a detractor or promoter.
  • Give detractors 15 to 20 percent of your available time as long as they meet one condition. They qualify as unhappy, misinformed or underserved in some way. Ignore ragers, irresponsibles, trolls, users and abusers.

Use automated review and reputation management software to attract reviews and client attention.

Employee satisfaction is a bit more involved.

This comes down to a simple strategy you can use to gauge employee feedback.

360 degree feedback.

A 360 degree feedback assessment removes the fear, resentment and unnecessary conflict that comes with the feedback process. It can be difficult to manage but you’ll need a few details to make these reviews effective.

  1. Outline review policies (e.g. be honest, be kind or be quiet)
  2. Vet reviews ensuring they comply with policy
  3. Provide examples. Show staff how to give good feedback  

Give everyone the opportunity to review everyone else in the firm. This is painful but it’s good for the firm in the long term. It gives firm leaders a chance to address their blind spots before it becomes a major problem. This protects the firm in several ways.

radicalcandor

  • This feedback provides radical candor boosting employee trust in peers and firm leadership
  • It gives law firms a chance to deal with their dirty laundry before it ends up in a review or on Glassdoor
  • This feedback keeps leadership humble and open to change
  • Provides the firm with consistent opportunities for growth
  • Reduces the odds of a mass exodus of associates and partners from the firm
  • Improves employee performance and client satisfaction by proxy

 

Glassdoor review

 

Research shows that 360 degree feedback increases staff performance significantly year over year. It’s not perfect, but it’s an excellent way to foster trust in a firm.

Maybe you’re interested in a different set of metrics?

These metrics are the basics.

They’re a firm wide overview of your practice. The number of performance indicators you can measure is near limitless but in this case, less is more. A comprehensive amount of data is not as helpful as many of us have been led to believe.

You know your firm best.

Start with the basics, the data that tells you how you’re doing and where you need to improve. Then add in the data that gives you a customized view of your firm’s performance.

You know your firm is performing well when…

These metrics provide you with the data and evidence you need.

Most firms track a few of these performance indicators. But how many firms make it a habit to monitor these key performance indicators?

Not many.

True, these metrics don’t always deliver the best news. Sometimes our gut feeling is wrong. Sometimes we’re not doing as well as we thought. These firm wide metrics are an important part of our growth. If you’re looking to grow your firm you need this data.

Why?

Because even if it’s bad news, it’s good news to know.

Knowledge provides direction.

It’s a simple and straightforward way to gain clarity about your firm’s performance. There’s no guesswork involved, no indecision on what needs to be done. Measure the right metrics and you’ll know what to fix and when, ensuring that you’re never off track again.

 

Filed Under: Blog, Legal

4 Leadership Qualities that Peers Admire

August 13, 2018 By Andrew McDermott Leave a Comment

leadership qualities

What makes a leader great?

It sounds like a simple question, but it’s one that’s difficult for many to answer objectively. Collective wisdom says great leaders are important. Why then, is greatness so difficult to pin down?

It actually isn’t.

It’s simply something we don’t know that we know. It’s difficult to put into words, until we see it. When we see it the reaction is immediate.

“That. Right there. That is great leadership.”

The hidden reality of leadership few will admit to

I’m talking about meta communication.

What exactly is meta communication? George Bateson coined the term to describe our “communication about communication.“

Which means… what?

Meta communication a hidden layer of communication that exists in our day to day lives. It’s a consistent stream of communication that flows through an organization. From one person to the next in a continuing, endless loop.

It’s an inevitable part of communication.

Your words and actions send a clear but unspoken message about yourself, the firm and your perception of those around you.

Here’s an example.

A recent survey of 124 law firm managing partners, conducted by industry consultants Patrick McKenna and David Parnell, a whopping 93 percent of firm leaders report bullying at their firms.

The worst part?

The bullies at these firms are the high earners. They know their rainmaking abilities give them power and many are opting to use that power selfishly.

Let’s jump into the meta layer.

What does this kind of behavior say to everyone at the firm?

  • You’re not safe here
  • Don’t trust anyone or the wrong person
  • Hide your thoughts and feelings
  • Don’t show your co-workers who you really are
  • Lying is a good way to protect yourself
  • If you aren’t a powerful high earner, you can’t change the problem

This poisons a firm’s culture. It destroys morale.

Here’s the thing about meta communication. Everyone in the firm contributes to the pool of meaning. Partners, associates, paralegals, administrative assistants.

As a leader your contributions do more

We emulate those we follow.

As a leader, your ideas infect your co-worker’s contributions (for better or worse). Your success creates influence and persuasion, leading others to adopt your behaviors as their own.  

Those who don’t follow leave.

Those who stay, but disagree, deal with the positive or negative consequences of your actions. Leaders function as a sort of informal king, influencing and guiding those around them.

As the king, so the people.

Which brings us to leadership qualities. What are the qualities peers admire in a leader?

Most focus on character.

But this is the starting point. The foundation for a great leader. If you don’t have good character, you aren’t a great leader. I’ll touch on that briefly.

So what qualities are we discussing then?

Quality #1: Good character and ability

Outstanding leaders typically have the following qualities.

  • A high degree of intelligence
  • Trustworthiness
  • Honorable
  • Consistent top performers
  • Very hard workers
  • Resourceful, going above, under, through obstacles
  • Self aware and humble
  • Teachable
  • Kind to others regardless of their status or station in life
  • Driven by values, morals and ethics
  • Are strong, capable, confident and powerful

Most pundits list these details as the most admirable leadership qualities to have and they end there. But these are just the starting point.

Quality #2: They don’t assert their power over others

An exceptional leader fights for agency.

They do their very best to respect their peer’s choices even if that means they have to walk away from the relationship as a result of that.

They avoid ultimatums.

That’s the thing with ultimatums, they can be implicit or explicit. Great leaders recognize that choice is the best motivator for those around them. They work to control their environment, conditions and circumstances – never people.

They’re sensitive to their peers.

They don’t brag about their bonus with associates who haven’t received theirs. They’re mindful of the stress that up and comers may be under.

You’ll never hear a variation of “do it or else!” from them.

Quality #3: They build their peers up, legitimately

They humble themselves and serve those below them when needed. They bring opportunity and success to their peers. They’re more than willing to recommend a peer for a position if there’s a legitimate fit.

They give without expectation of return.

The professional world is dominated by claims of “I did this for you so you owe me.” These exceptional leaders recognize that some things that are more important than money.

They give generously and receive gratefully.

They remember the favors and goodness others have given them and they pay it forward. They take the opportunity to brag about the accomplishments of others.

They teach them.

They make themselves available to those who can’t reward them in any way. This isn’t about pro-bono work. It’s about serving others because you recognize the value of doing so.

Quality #4: They pay their debts

Some partners feel it’s okay to take advantage of their associates.

“It’s par for the course” they say.

Exceptional leaders are different. They give without expectation of return but they receive with the intention to reward. They work to remember every courtesy, favor or kindness granted to them.

Then they respond accordingly by.

  1. Rewarding their giver
  2. Paying it forward in a bigger way
  3. Forgetting about their gift and moving on

They pay their debts but give out gifts. This is a hard path to follow. Many people give with expectation – they want to make sure they get what’s theirs. There’s a fundamental principle that ensures that will happen.

You reap what you sow.

We apply this inconsistently assuming it works with negative outcomes. But it works both ways.

You have greatness inside you

You can change the meta communication at your firm. Great leaders are made; we recognize them when we see them.

Greatness, your exceptional leadership qualities…

They’re all about communication. Your meta communication adds to the pool of meaning. With words, through your actions. It’s the hidden reality of leadership we don’t know that we know.

Share your greatness with those around you.

Your peers recognize greatness, but they won’t know until they see it. Might as well be from you.

Try Bill4Time for free.

Filed Under: Blog, Running Your Business

10 Types of Alternative Fee Arrangements to Consider For Your Firm

August 8, 2018 By Andrew McDermott 3 Comments

alternative fee arrangements

What’s the most upsetting part of billing? A fee dispute. Clients aren’t always happy with their bill. In their mind, there’s an abundance of law firms that can do the same things you do. It makes sense then that clients have become dissatisfied with the traditional “per hour model.” They want options. They want you to provide them with alternative fee arrangements (AFAs).

Are alternative fee arrangements the enemy?

Not at all.

A recent legal trends survey found roughly 56 percent of firms used AFAs. What’s interesting about this is the fact that 96 percent of these firms were satisfied with the quality of work provided under AFAs. A previous survey found that 81 percent felt that AFAs were a permanent trend.

So firms are increasing their use of AFAs?

Not so much. Only 37 percent of firms plan to increase their use of AFAs in the coming year.

Uh… what?

That’s right. Law firms discovered that many of their clients want/prefer AFAs. They also discovered these AFAs produced outstanding results for their firm.

So what’s the problem?

You need to know what you’re doing. These AFAs are risky if you’re careless or inefficient. This doesn’t mean they pose a significant amount of danger to your firm. It means you’ll need to pay attention to what you’re doing if you’d like to achieve good results.

Common sense, right?

Fee arrangements need the Goldilocks principle

Remember the story?

“This porridge is too hot,” Goldilocks exclaimed.

So she tasted the porridge from the second bowl.

“This porridge is too cold.“

So she tasted the last bowl of porridge.

“Ahhh, this porridge is just right!” she said happily.

And she ate it all up.

AFAs need the Goldilocks principle to survive.

Here’s a hypothetical scenario shared by Bill Josten, Legal Analyst at Thompson Reuters.

A law firm and client agree to work for a flat $1 million. The client is happy. They feel this price is fair. The law firm is happy, because the margins are reasonable. The work is rewarding.

Along comes Mr. all-star attorney.

Mr. all-star attorney is ambitious and eager to provide value to the firm. He comes up with a new way to complete the same amount of work, with superior results for a meager $50,000. The quality is top shelf.

The client is pleased.

Until they see the shadow bill. Suddenly they’re furious. How could their firm bill them $1 million dollars for work that only cost $50,000 to produce?

See the problem?

If the law firm spent $950,000 producing the work and billed $1 million, the client wouldn’t have batted an eye. The law firm didn’t cheat their client. They found an innovative way to get the work done.

This is the hidden risk with AFAs.

If you’re too good at your job you sow seeds of distrust and dissatisfaction with your clients. Instead of being commended (as you should be) for your ingenious approach you may actually lose the client.

It’s incredibly unfair.

What if things swing in the other direction?

What if you quote your clients the very same price ($1 million) but the work ends up costing the firm $2 million? If you’re suddenly hemorrhaging money, your clients will expect, no demand that you honor the price you’ve quoted them.

Even if it kills the firm.

You’ll be forced to either (a.) eat the cost of failure and do what you can to survive or (b.) find a legal loophole or stratagem you can use to escape the unprofitable arrangement you’re trapped in.

It’s painful either way.

This is the obvious risk with AFAs.

If your alternative fee arrangements are going to be successful, you’ll need to have a clear idea of how you’ll handle the twists and turns that come with each arrangement.

How many “arrangements” are there?

Choosing the fee structure that’s just right

AFAs, for the most part, are focused on one thing.

Control.

These AFAs satisfy a client’s need for certainty. It gives them clear guidelines they can use to make predictions, estimates and guesses. This is important because clients need to know what to expect.

Let’s take a look.

  1. Fee caps: Hourly billings are capped at an agreed upon maximum for a given case, project or service. As you might have guessed, this is hourly billings with a slight modification. This arrangement is definitely more beneficial to clients than it is to your firm. You’ll want to watch out for the obvious risks (see above) I mentioned previously.
  2. Fixed fee menus: This option provides set pricing on a variety of services provided by the firm. Additional flat fee charges could be added to the initial base price. An investment transaction could be billed at $25,000. Added to that, an additional $8,000 fee for assuming a loan. $10,530 for financing and so on.
  3. Fixed fees for single engagements means firms set a hard price on a several well-defined services. This isn’t ideal for new services or practice areas and it’s not a great fit for inexperienced attorneys. Firms using this AFA need volume to make this arrangement worth their while. This is perfect for services that produce the lion’s share of a firm’s revenue.
  4. Full contingencies: With these no fee unless we win arrangements, survival depends entirely on success. These AFAs are common with plaintiff and defense attorneys. This AFA works best if your firm has a competitive advantage or noted ability in a specific practice area. Avoid this AFA if you’re unsure of the outcome or results you’ll achieve.
  5. Holdbacks: A contingency arrangement where a predetermined amount is guaranteed as payment to the firm (say 20 percent). The rest is contingent on the firm’s success in achieving the desired outcome. Receiving fees at 80 percent of your usual rate, with the remaining 20 percent contingent on success. This is often combined with bonus or success fees, further incentivizing firms to deliver results.
  6. Partial contingencies/Success fees: Similar to a holdback, the firm receives a portion of their fees during the engagement. They receive an additional lump sum at the end of the engagement if they’re successful. Partial contingencies typically define success criteria ahead of time. These criteria are sometimes left to the client’s discretion or spelled out in significant detail.
  7. Portfolio fixed fees provide clients with a single, fixed price for a large number of services.  For example, an organization’s intellectual property engagements over the course of a year. With this arrangement, losses are inevitable so you’ll need a significant amount of volume to come out ahead.
  8. Retainers: The legal industry’s old faithful. A fee your clients agree to pay every month, for a set period of time, for a specific set of services. These are well known but they’re growing in popularity thanks to the surge in demand for AFAs.
  9. Risk collars: An hourly billing arrangement that rewards efficiency. With this hourly billing arrangement, attorneys receive a bonus if their work is completed under budget. Clients receive a discount if the work goes over budget. The actual discounts and bonuses vary from firm to firm but it helps to align the client’s/firm’s interests.
  10.   Subscriptions: Similar to retainers, subscription plans give clients access to a specific set of services and engagements for a predetermined price. While retainers have a set timeframe and clear purpose, subscriptions are more universal in their application, continuing indefinitely. Subscriptions require a significant degree of experience as you’ll need to be aware of what it costs to provide a particular service.

These AFAs aren’t created equal.

You’ll need to choose the right arrangement for your firm. They require experience and careful preparation. But, as we’ve seen, these alternative fee arrangements produce a significant amount of value for law firms and their clients.

It’s part of a strong value proposition.

These AFAs make most firms nervous. There’s a concern that you’ll lose money or alienate your clients. But it doesn’t have to be this way. Follow a simple maxim and it won’t be this way.

Plan for the worst, expect the best.

Follow this principle and you’ll have what you need to make these AFAs work for you.

Only _____ firms use alternative fee arrangements

AFA isn’t a dirty word anymore.

Research shows 22 of the 650 law firms serving the Fortune 1,000 rely on AFAs. AFA usage is an at all-time high but it hasn’t gone fully mainstream yet.

Now’s your chance.

It’s your chance to get ahead of your competitors. To establish innovative strategies with your AFAs.  To do what other firms can’t or won’t do for their clients.

It’s risky – for the unprepared.

Big law, small to medium sized firms, they’re using AFAs. These strategies aren’t unique to a particular region or practice area.

AFAs could be your savior

The tool that boosts client confidence.

That shows clients you’re willing to take a risk on them. To align your interests with theirs. To alleviate the most upsetting part of the billing process.

The fee dispute.

The traditional model often brings uncertainty and fear. Clients aren’t all that comfortable with the hourly model. In their mind, there’s an abundance of firms that do what you do.

Only there isn’t.

No firm does it quite like you. Your firm is special, unique. Your approach, your experience, your take on the law. It produces value in a way that’s unique to you.

AFAs get clients to listen.

To take a chance with your firm. The research shows AFAs are here to stay. The firms using them continue to grow. Who will win? The firms that master AFAs. It could be you. It should be you.

It will be.

If you start now. Your clients want options. They want you to provide them with alternative fee arrangements. Give them what they want then watch as the most upsetting parts of billing begin to fade away.

Try Bill4Time for Free

Filed Under: Blog, Legal

How Shepherd Prewett PLLC Reduced Non-Billable Work By As Much As 50%

August 7, 2018 By Andrew McDermott 2 Comments

Shepherd Prewett PLLC is a Houston based boutique law firm. They specialize in all manner of civil disputes, handling civil litigation and appellate matters. They’re experts at:

  • Commercial disputes
  • Oil and gas litigation
  • Professional liability and malpractice claims
  • Personal injury cases
  • Appeals and arbitration
  • Licensing and regulatory challenges

Originally this small six person firm was part of a larger firm. They broke away three years ago and ventured out on their own. These career attorneys spent a large portion of their careers in big law. They endured many of the operational headaches and slow processes partners and associates experience in a larger firm. As a small firm, they needed the tools and resources to outperform bigger firms.

Did that solution even exist?

The Challenge

…they used to [at the bigger firm] use another tool and it was not user-friendly at all. It seemed as though whenever you entered your time it was etched in stone. It was difficult to work with.

– Deirdre Hicks, Paralegal at Shepherd Prewett

It’s no secret.

Attorneys are drowning in non-billable work. Recent reports mention that attorneys lose as much as 6 hours per day to non-billable work.

At their old firm, the attorneys were required to go through a convoluted process to get a simple report.

We would have to request the reports from accounting and you would have to wait for someone from accounting to run the report, proof it, and get it [back] to you.

What if the report was wrong?

Or you needed a different report? Or deeper insights on the report you had? You had to go through the same elaborate process each time. There was an elaborate bureaucracy to follow, which is typical for larger firms.

Shepherd Prewett needed something different.

They needed a practice management solution to solve their firm’s other problems. They needed to be responsive, nimble and efficient.

In the past, administrative and support teams were mired in non-billable work. Attorneys were buried with non-billable busy work. If they wanted their firm to perform well, things needed to be different this time.

The Solution

Attorneys at Shepherd Prewett stumbled onto Bill4Time and decided to check it out. The change to Shepherd Prewett’s business was immediately apparent.

When we got over here, one of the attorneys, checked into Bill4Time. I don’t know how she found out about it, but it was a blessing. We are to the point where some of the attorneys even enter their own time. One of the partners even generates his own pre-bills and invoices. It’s just that easy for us. The thing about Bill4Time is that it has made the attorneys self-sufficient, for the most part. My boss, Billy Shepherd, runs his own reports. This is something he never could do before. Prior to Bill4Time all reports had to be run by the accounting team. Once I showed him how to generate a report, that was all it took.

Attorneys at Shepherd Prewett use the features in Bill4Time to manage the important components of practice management. They are able to focus their time and attention on important yet very specific tasks.

The Results

At the previous firm, I knew nothing about the pre-bills and invoicing.  When we formed the new practice, this became one of my responsibilities.  Now pre-bills and invoices are generated in a snap. Each improvement or update made to Bill4Time has proven to be a timesaver.

These changes produced a time savings of 50 percent or more.

When attorneys need to analyze their client performance data they can do it in seconds. The Shepherd Prewett team can spend their time focused on the to-dos that matter most. Serving their clients and getting paid for their time.

The one feature that I’m really in love with now, is the ability to check one box to apply payments to all matters invoiced for a specific client. If you have a client that has multiple matters, and they have been invoiced for a specific period of time that client will usually submit one check to pay for all of their invoices. This new feature allows you to check one box and it automatically selects all the matters recently invoiced. You no longer have to apply payments to each matter individually. The total amount invoiced appears in the accounting section of Bill4Time, once your check and the total invoiced match, you simply fill in a few fields check one box and boom! You’re done applying payments received.

The organization-wide results moved from the bottom up.

Support teams received immediate value from Bill4Time, which made things easier for associates and partners. Associates and partners quickly jumped on board once they saw the results they were able to achieve with Bill4Time.

Using Bill4Time the Shepherd Prewett team has a handle on practice management. They’re easily able to do the heavy lifting at their firm. A simple and straightforward tool means attorneys are free to focus on doing their best work.

What happens if they run into problems?

The fact of the matter is, that I’m not an accounting person, but this program has just been so easy to use. The articles and online videos are extremely beneficial, but more importantly to me is the technical support staff. Whenever I call everybody’s just so knowledgeable, pleasant and patient. They explain the process and will even walk me through any issue I may be encountering.

Bill4Time is just wonderful. I brag about it all the time. Every time I complete my surveys, I’m always very complimentary. Some folks are always so quick to complain when things don’t go right, and we don’t take the time to say when things are good. Bill4Time has been absolutely perfect for our firm.

Shepherd Prewett recovered 50 percent of their time.

They rely on Bill4Time to manage their legal practice and all that this entails. An easy way to manage their day-to-day operations. It’s given them more free time. It’s drastically reduced their non-billable workload and it’s given attorneys an incredible amount of control over the reports they receive.

It enables the Shepherd Prewett team to their best work.

Preparation of invoices has gotten so much better and faster. Each time I use it, I’m faster at it. The firm that we broke away from, is now using Bill4Time, and they love it. The service is impeccable and everyone is just so nice.

Growing a law firm is challenging. The operational headaches and slow processes most firms struggle with? Those are optional. With the right tools and a flexible team, Shepherd Prewett has the practice management support they need to maintain a successful firm.

Try Bill4Time for free.

Filed Under: Case Study, Legal

Release Notes: August 2018

August 2, 2018 By Andrew McDermott Leave a Comment

The Bill4Time product team releases new and enhanced features, system improvements, and bug fixes several times per week. Organized by month, the Release Notes blog series will highlight all the changes we’ve implemented, so you can easily stay up-to-date on what’s new. If you have a question, feedback, or an idea – please leave a comment below!

Take a look at what we’ve released this August:

Updated 8/28/2018

Payment Received Date Error – Our developers have identified and resolved an error where after editing a payment, a form validation check was improperly rejecting a payment received date set before an invoice applied date. This issue is now resolved for all users and all browser types.

Task Workflows – We have released our Task Workflows Beta functionality. To learn more about this feature Please Click Here

Updated 8/22/2018

Dashboard Widget Order – Thanks to user feedback, we have identified and resolved an issue where Dashboard Widgets were reverting to the default order instead of observing the user’s custom design. This issue is now resolved for all users and all accounts.

Remaining Invoice Balance in Batch View – You are now able to view the calculated balance of an invoice (in addition to the invoice total amount), as well as the balance of an entire invoice batch. This is a quick and easy way to see if partial payments were made to an invoice. And this will assist firms in tracking their invoices setup to receive installment payments

Updated 8/9/2018

Tax Report Update – We have identified and resolved an issue on the Tax Report where certain entries were considered taxable when they should not have been included on the report. This issue is now resolved for all users and all browsers.

Updated 8/7/2018

ABA Task Summary Report – We have updated the name of the Task Summary report to be the ‘ABA Task Summary Report’ – no functionality change, we have only updated its name.

Updated 8/2/2018

Applying Payment – Our developers have identified and resolved an issue where project-specific payments were permitted to be applied to multi-project invoices. This change only applies to the ‘Apply Payment’ button found under the Payments tab when looking at an invoice’s details.

Question or comment about a change we’ve made?
Please contact Bill4Time Support by Email or phone: 877-245-5484

Filed Under: Blog, What's New

How to Disconnect From the Firm and Be Present with Your Family

August 1, 2018 By Andrew McDermott Leave a Comment

It snuck up on us.

The expectations around work, the ones we’re used to, have changed. The phrase 9 to 5 is viewed as old-fashioned and outdated. A lawyer’s family is expected to wait.  Our friends and loved ones are supposed to take what they can get.

This sounds wrong.

It is wrong. Does this mean family time is viewed as an added bonus or an unnecessary extra?

A lawyer’s family comes second?

That’s what it sounds like.

If you’re a lawyer, your work typically means you’re grinding out long hours. It means missed family vacations, poor life balance, stress, anxiety and burnout.

It used to be like this.

In fact, for the vast majority of lawyers, it still is. The good news is that it doesn’t have to be that way. There are several new alternative work models that can give you what you want.

More time with your family and friends.

What’s the big deal though? Why should you disconnect from your work and be present with your friends and loved ones?

  • Employee loyalty. There’s a collective change taking place. More and more employees are rejecting the 60 and 70 hour work weeks. They’re looking for firms that share their values and ideals. Stick with the “traditional” model and your workload will continue to grow.
  • Mental health. Secondary and vicarious trauma is an unspoken problem for many attorneys. Working with clients who are victimized and abused has a profoundly negative effect on lawyers. Lawyers need time to recover which many don’t have, unfortunately.
  • Employee morale. Overwork has a crushing and debilitating effect on lawyers. They’re 3.6 times more likely to suffer from depression than non-lawyers.
  • Work performance. The by-products of a large workload produces stress and anxiety. This decreases our cognitive abilities immediately and in the long term. The alarming part about all of this is the fact that this isn’t new. We’ve known about this for decades.

A constant connection to your firm increases your stress and anxiety. Disconnection decreases your stress and anxiety.  

Which means…

A disconnect isn’t optional, it’s essential

But you can’t disconnect.

Your fears are well founded. If you abandon your firm or you fail to deliver, you’ll lose your job.

It gets worse.

At any given time, there are lots of people competing for the same position. This is actually good for you. It makes you indispensable, the person your firm can’t afford to lose – if you have the right strategy.

Wait, why?

Most firms are in a position of power. They’re able to tell their associates what to do, when to do it and more. Firms typically dictate the terms of the employer/employee relationship. Becoming indispensable gives you a negotiating position.

That’s important.

Let’s say your firm has an arrive early, stay late culture. You’ll need to give them a compelling reason to give you what you want, while also giving them what they want.

Okay…

What specifically do you need to improve your negotiating position then?

  1. Conventional results. Being amazing at your job. Going above and beyond. Your work is pristine, you’re a pleasure to work with. You’re an A player associate or partner and you excel at what you do.
  2. Transformative results. You achieve results that raise your firm’s profile. You become a noteworthy influencer or expert on a particular matter. You’re a rainmaker. You’re connected to power brokers and key influencers. You have information they need but can’t get on their own. In short, you do something valuable that the firm needs.
  3. Positional leverage. You have options and resources available to you. You have a f*&k off fund, standing offers from other firms, multiple streams of cash flow, etc. Something that allows you to walk away if necessary.

Wait a minute.

Why do you need these ingredients? Conventional results are the foundation. Employers are far less likely to negotiate with an employee they’re looking to get rid of. Transformative results shows employers you’re platinum in the raw, the rare lawyer they can’t replace. Positional leverage eliminates your fear of conflict and negotiation. You’re able to negotiate from a position of strength and confidence.

This allows you to set boundaries.

You’re able to disconnect at a mutually agreed upon time. You get the time you need and your firm respects the boundaries you’ve set.

How do you do it though?

How do you disconnect from work and be present?

You circumvent the traditional model with a new one.

For decades, lawyers have stated that they aren’t fond of working at law firms. These new models of legal practice give you the chance to take control of your career, achieving the results you want without sacrificing your personal time or familial relationships in the process.

What are these new models?

1. Secondment firms

These firms place lawyers in-house at a client’s site. The arrangement is typically offered on a part time or temporary basis.

  • Senior lawyers acting as general counsel or regional heads of departments in large firms
  • Junior lawyers handle overflow work from in-house teams and other firms
  • Lawyers are paid for the hours or work that’s done and don’t receive a set salary

Some of these firms may offer a full time flex option where a 40 hour work week is structured around familial obligations and other interests.

2. Law and business advice companies

These organizations bundle legal advice as a package deal with their other offerings. These can be management consulting firms, investment banking companies, or companies offering general legal work.

These organizations aren’t as common but they do provide a significant amount of value.

What’s more, lawyers also commonly receive a fair amount of flexibility in both their personal and professional work lives. The workload may be less focused on volume and billable time and more focused on value pricing.

3. Law firm accordion companies

These companies create a network of curated attorneys who specialize in a specific area. These networks work with traditional law firms, enabling them to accordion up to meet short-term staffing needs. These arrangements are typically more attractive to women and are often offered in blocks of 10 – 20 hour work weeks.

As with other arrangements, attorneys are paid for the hours they work or on a flat fee/per project basis.

4. Virtual law firms and companies

These law firms drive down costs significantly by allowing attorneys to work from their homes. These attorneys forgo a guaranteed salary but they’re free to work as much or as little as they choose.

These firms aren’t created equal.

Some firms are very traditional, operating like their brick and mortar counterparts. Others focus exclusively on the cases or projects they’re assigned, leaving higher level tasks like rainmaking to company owners or marketing teams.

5. Innovative law firms and companies

This fifth category introduces a lot of variance. Some firms bill on a subscription model – they provide legal services to clients in exchange for a monthly fee.

This creates structure and predictability.

Lawyers are able to do innovative work in a sophisticated practice, but they’re able to follow a traditional 9 to 5 schedule. No working on weekends, three weeks’ vacation where they’re completely unplugged and disconnected from the firm.

Other firms focus on innovative practices

They tweak the traditional model in ingenious ways to improve attorney work/life balance. Others may use alternative fee arrangements to optimize cash flow while decreasing the reliance on hourly billables.  Some opt for a flat structure. They eliminate the associate/partner distinctions and “rainmaking requirements” in their firm, focusing on establishing a meritocracy.

Maybe your firm doesn’t offer these options

Maybe they’re traditional.

Maybe they’re focused on doing things the way they’ve always been done. It’s something you should plan for. Which is why I mentioned the ingredients I mentioned earlier.

These ingredients protect you.

Why if your firm doesn’t offer you the flexibility and disconnection you need? What if you have a sneaking suspicion that your firm won’t be open to discussing a disconnect with you?

You can (a.) introduce these options in your negotiations with your firm or (b.) you can establish one of these five options for yourself before you begin your negotiation. Doing this gives you the ability to walk into the negotiation with a strong and favorable position.

You’ll have to choose to disconnect

I get it.

It’s impossible to stop thinking about work, especially when you’re trying to find your way through a significant problem.

Disconnection is simple.

Choose to focus. Focus isn’t about brainpower. It’s about saying No. When it’s time to be present with your family, you’ll need to say No. You’ll have to say No to your phone, to the tethers that keep you connected to work when you should be focused on family vacation.

It’s for your family.

But it’s also for you. If you want to continue winning, to continue to do your best work, you’ll need to be present. A constant connection to your firm increases your stress and anxiety. Disconnection decreases your stress and anxiety.

Your family comes first

If you want to achieve the impossible, you’ll need a why. Your personal relationships give you the decrease you need to relax, recover and recharge.

Expectations around work have changed.

The phrase 9 to 5 is viewed as old-fashioned and outdated. Lawyers in traditional firms are implicitly expected to sacrifice their personal lives to achieve firm goals.  But our friends and loved ones matter most. They aren’t supposed to take what they can get.

Give them what they deserve.

If you’re a lawyer your work typically means you’re grinding out long hours. It means missed family vacations, poor life balance, stress, anxiety and burnout.

Not anymore.

With the right ingredients and a bit of strategy, you’ll have everything you need prioritize your work and be present with your family.

Try Bill4Time for free.

Filed Under: Blog, Legal, Running Your Business

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